Wow, I'm just wonderful at this updating thing, aren't I? Well, yet again, I have been procrastinating updating my blog. It's not because I don't like updating, it's more that nothing interesting has happened this month.
Breaking Dawn came out, finally. I read it and I really liked it. I know there are some people out there who didn't like it for a multitude of reasons. Well, I feel bad for them. I really enjoyed it. To me, it went perfectly with the rest of the series and Stephenie wrote us a perfect ending to Edward and Bella's love story.
However, there were a few details I wish were different. First of all, Jacob and Bella's relationship. Ugh. It is somewhat ludicrous (to me) that Bella, who has Edward, an amazing husband, is still mushy over Jacob! It makes me angry. I know that Edward kind of brought this upon himself when he left Bella in New Moon, but still.
Stephenie Meyer threw in an explanation for this, though she has the ugliest, most awkward name in the world: Renesmee. So even though this explains Jacob's loving Bella, it still doesn't excuse Bella for being an idiot. Renesmee herself is strange. I'm not saying I didn't like her, because honestly I can't decide whether she is adorable or creepy, but the idea of a baby being born and growing at such a quick rate and drinking blood, of all things, is kind of hard to wrap your mind around. Her gift was a perfect fit to the story, however. I honestly think I would have liked her better if she'd grown up a little slower and acted more like a child.
Another thing I wanted to mention is that I don't think it was too raunchy. I know that some people out there thought that, but I didn't.
I also didn't like how some of our favorite characters were practically pushed aside in Breaking Dawn. Alice was almost nonexistant because of Renesmee and the werewolves! I was angry about that, because Alice is one of my favorite characters. Charlie played such a small part and what part he did have, he was vague and a somewhat unCharlie-like push-over. Renee was hardly mentioned. I did not like how Rosalie simply took over Renesmee. Yes, we all know Rosalie wanted a baby, but sheesh! I still hate her. Emmett was pushed out of the picture by Jacob and Rosalie pretending to be Renesmee's parents. Ugh. Carlisle and Esme, the sweetest characters, hardly had a role either!
Well, now to the things I did like. Edward and Bella's honeymoon was very romantic. Who wouldn't want a private island for their honeymoon? I loved Bella's experiences as a vampire, even though after three and a half books of Edward stubbornly saying "No", it was strange to read about her as a vampire. Edward and Bella's cottage was a wonderful idea and I wish I had one!
I loved the gathering of vampires, more for the idea of meeting new characters than the plot line. The Romanians were hilarious and I agree with them; they should have wiped out those arrogant, slimy, manipulating Volturi! I loved the Egyptian vampire Benjamin. He was such a pleasant character. And Garrett was awesome. So the vampire gathering was a highlight for me.
Overall, I really did enjoy the book. Yeah, it could have been about a hundred pages shorter with less details about Bella's boring pregnancy, but it was still interesting. Stephenie kept the characters true, for the most part (here I mean Edward practically begging Jacob to help Bella. I mean, come on!). Stephenie ended Edward and Bella's story perfectly, while still leaving open ending for some of the other characters if she chooses to write more, which I hope she will. Wouldn't Renesmee's story be interesting? I mean, now she has Jacob and Nahuel to fight over her! I would also love to hear Benjamin's story, although I don't think that will happen. And poor Leah! I finally thought she and Jacob were getting somewhere and then, just because Renesmee is born, poof! Leah disappears from the storyline!
Well, that's basically my Breaking Dawn review. Mom, I hope you didn't read this! And everyone else, leave a comment. I would love to discuss the book more!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)






2 comments:
Great review Sweetie!
And you know as well as I do that your mom will read this! She has no self-control! he he he
Love ya!
Nat
Well, now that is just rude! I do have self control...I do, I do! However, I chose to read it. Now, I guess I will just have to give my own review as soon as I finish the book. ;P So there!
Post a Comment